Club History

Find out more about Ayr Riding Club

Ayr Riding Club was formed in 1958 and completed affiliation on 4th November 1958.

Typical year

Membership due in January

Regular flatwork, and showjumping training throughout the year at Morris and Gainford, XC training at Titwood in the summer

plus specialised training series and one off events too such as TREC and Drill Rides

Fun Dressage  and jumping during summer

AGM is in November each year

Rolls of Honour

Honorary Members

Lady Amanda Fergusson

Mugs Montgomery

Hon Heather Galbraith

Lorna and Ronald Alexander

Valerie McMurtrie

Past Chairs

Susan Stuart 2020

Alison Drummond 2019

Eilidh Burrow 2018

Isabel Forsyth 2017

Irene McKelvey 2014-2016

Kate Breslin 2012 – 2013

Caroline Lambie 2011

Kirsteen Watson 2008-2010

Cathy Rawson 2004-2007

Claire Nichol Trophy

Claire Nichol was Ayr Riding Club Secretary in the late 70’s. Claire evented, had a fall while competing and tragically died from her injuries. Her boyfriend kindly presented the trophy to the Riding Club to be awarded to the member who had helped the club most throughout the year. The original trophy became damaged and in 2011 Lady Amanda Fergusson generously donated a new trophy of a bronze mare and foal which is awarded to this day.

Past  Winners

2023 – Susan Stuart

2022 – Helen Green/Susan Stuart

2021 – Julie Hanna/Helen Green

2020 – no award (Covid)

2019 – Julie Hanna

2018 – Isabel Forsyth/Julie Hanna

2017 – Eilidh Burrow

2016 – Julie Hanna

2015 – Isabel Forsyth

2014 – Irene McKelvey/Eleanor Pottinger

2013 – Angus Macara